theZeph

namely, fit for a dog

he STILL likes the bad guys

with 3 comments

Remember back here, when we learned how great it was to share the experience that is The Trilogy with my oldest son?

And remember how it all took a turn for the worse..suddenly theFirst Born became enamored with all characters dark and villainous.

Trust me. Back when I thought it was a good idea to expose a 4 year old to Star Wars, I did indeed go through the “goodly parent” checklist before pushing play.

Q: Am I just going to plunk the kid down in front of the tube so I can get something else done?

A: Heck no – I am going to plunk both the kid AND the dad down in front of the tube…the tube can baby sit BOTH of us.  [check]

Q: Will this be an activity that educates or is it just a mindless waste of time?

A: Are you kidding?  It’s STAR WARS!  Think how much smarter Einstein would have been had he lived long enough to be enlightened by the great theatrical masterpiece that is The Trilogy.  [check]

Q: What’s the MPAA rating?

A: PG – and we are talking 1977 PG so that is like the uber G rating in today’s terms.  [check]

Okay, goodly parent checklist complete.

[6 months later]

As we walked over to pick up theFirst Born from Sunday School, his teacher was waiting at the door.  Red faced.  Tears streaming down her cheeks.  Laughing uncontrollably.

Uh oh.

Apparently the lesson was on prayer.  When she asked for examples of what we can pray for theFirst Born responded:

“Heavenly Father, HELP ME, HELP ME.  Please Heavenly Father help me put my head back on.”

[crickets]

Back when I was going through the checklist, how was I supposed to remember everything on the “goodly parent” checklist AND the part in Star Wars when Luke sabers Vader’s head off while training in the Degoba System?

It wasn’t even the REAL vader…it was more like a dream.

theWife isn’t buying it.  Now SHE goes over the checklist with me before I put any Father/Son plans in action.

Like I said, Sundays BEFORE kids was MUCH different.

Written by eber

May 10, 2009 at 12:00 am

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I don’t think my wife reads your blog. Which is a good thing, because it’s high time I introduced my 4 year old son to the trilogy. I’ll just distract him with popcorn during the dream decapitation.

    mark

    May 11, 2009 at 11:24 am

  2. My son also leans to the dark side. He always wants to be Darth Maul or Vader, and even the Emperor with alarming frequency. He likes the electricity-out-of-the-fingers thing.

    KanyonKris

    May 22, 2009 at 9:48 am

  3. KK – seriously, what is with the fascination with the electricity hands? My boys can’t get enough. now my youngest is fascinated by General Grievous (and he hasn’t even seen the movie). hearing a 2-year old say “genwo greebus” is pretty classic

    zeph

    May 22, 2009 at 1:16 pm


Leave a Reply

