theZeph

namely, fit for a dog

deFURred

with 5 comments

Each year I take a grooming vacation.

That isn’t to say I head off to some man spa to get my hair done. No, what I mean is I take a vacation from grooming…no haircuts, no shaving. This year was an unusually long vacation (4 months).

At the end of each hair vacation comes a day of joy and sadness. Joy on theWife’s part because she gets to see the more kempt side of me again. Sadness on my part because I will be dedicating more time each week to grooming.

When people debate the evolution of man, I need only look inward at my own grooming sadness for proof that I have indeed evolved from a chimpanzee (theWife would argue I have yet to complete the process).

Some years The Day has less sadness than others. For instance, one year I was on a road trip with friends when The Day arrived. After shaving my fantastically long goatee I was inspired by Calvin (the cartoon character, not the theologian) to deposit the trimmings neatly in the shorts pocket of one of my traveling companions.

I did, however, overlook one detail. He didn’t WEAR the shorts that day. Instead he packed them up and took them home, where his WIFE did the laundry…

Needless to say she was inconsolable. And although my friend was with me the entire day before the trim and the entire day AFTER the trim – he is certain I had groomed my “nether regions” and deposited those trimmings in his pocket. (Skiddy – again I assure you it was my goatee and I plead for forgiveness).

So I woke up early THIS morning to prepare for the 2009 version of The Day. This year, thanks to you, I had some help determining the shave du’jour. While there were some intriguing suggestions, in the end it was an easy decision (theWife was right…I did indeed bite).

While Melissa’s submission was great and reminded me of William Peterson as Pat Garrett in Young Guns II, I quickly realized that I didn’t have enough moustache volume to pull it off.

[cue lightbulb over head and dinging bell sound]

I’ve got it…REPURPOSE the trimmings. GENIUS!

Admittedly my repurposing of the trimmings got a little out of hand.

And so without further ado, I present the Pat Garrett/Frida “do”:

garrett-frida

theWife’s reaction:

[full body shudder] “ugh…THAT won’t fly. I am SO glad you are going away this weekend.”

theFirst Born’s reaction:

“umm…dad, why does your face look like a different man’s face?”

Needless to say the shelf life for this “do” will likely be short.

Written by eber

March 6, 2009 at 9:13 am

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. WHAT?? I donnot get the eyebrow situation. Is that photoshoped? Eric I like you with hair, beard and all… sorry cic. But the eyebrows, not so much!!!!!

    lins b

    March 6, 2009 at 11:18 am

  2. lins b – no photoshop. i used liquid soap as an adhesive.

    zeph

    March 6, 2009 at 11:39 am

  3. Your chin looks like a bum in that picture. And now i know why there were wiskers all over in the bathroom, nice unibrow!

    Cheech

    March 6, 2009 at 2:57 pm

  4. Love it… nice work. However, I’m super scared of that brow.

    Melissa Lowe

    March 6, 2009 at 10:50 pm

  5. […] – I also don’t recommend going on a hair vacation and a health vacation at the same time. This winter I became Gene […]

    22 « theZeph

    April 11, 2010 at 8:26 am


Leave a Reply

