theZeph

namely, fit for a dog

i had a pretty good idea

with 16 comments

When I was younger one of my very most favorite movies was Point Break…really, it was.   Consequently, I thought it would be neato to some day name my first son after Patrick Swayze’s character in the movie – Bodhi Zepha (I altered the spelling so I could call him The Zeph).  Nevermind that Buddhism and Steely Dan already had the idea for quite some time. 

Anyhoo, fast forward some years to the arrival of The First Born…little Bodhi Zepha.  The Wife?  Not on board. 

Tried again two years later with The Second Son.  Didn’t work out. 

The Wife said “when we get a dog you can name him The Zeph.” 

12 years later…no dog. 

Switch a letter, add a letter. Next best thing? 

Name the blog theZeph. GENIUS.

The Wife?

She’s on board.

Written by eber

January 24, 2009 at 10:54 pm

16 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Point break kicks mean ass………….

    b_banks

    January 25, 2009 at 1:41 am

  2. The Zeph – I like it man! We’ll bring Point Break for you and Banks next St. George trip. Beats the Nick Cage allegiance that somehow occured last time.

    Jdub

    January 25, 2009 at 9:45 am

  3. you know, you could always change your OWN name to the Zeph. I’m just saying.

    dug

    January 25, 2009 at 10:41 am

  4. Does that mean that there are plans to have another little Bright in order to name him that? What if he turns out to be a she? I used to have a baby sitter named Zephie, for real. Her sisters name was Jerene. Names that start with Z ROCK!! C’Mon Cis’ go for it, it will grow on you and the kid will be cool in schooll becuase he has such a rad name. But then again he might get beat up becuase kids that age dont know what cool is yet =) Hell, I still dont know what cool is. But Boda Zepha sure beats Johnnie Utah! Or Eric Jr. =) If you dont name him B.Z. name him Kevin after your hero HA HA

    Kevin

    January 25, 2009 at 6:32 pm

  5. As soon as the “men” start having the babies then they can have a say in the name but until then . . . they give enough “input” at the time of conception.

    Cheech

    January 25, 2009 at 7:03 pm

  6. Love the blog. It’s about time! I’ve always wanted to name a dog Snax. But alas, like you, no dog. You need to add an RSS feed so that we can keep up with you. If you need help with that, yep, stand back, I am a blogger. I can do that for you.

    B. Wilde

    January 26, 2009 at 9:38 am

  7. dug – i don’t think i have the emotional fortitude to withstand the social ridicule if the name should indeed suck

    kevin – i have lost the battle (see comment by cheech). i am a broken man

    cheech – i will certainly trade “input” for naming rights

    theZeph

    January 26, 2009 at 10:36 pm

  8. Cheech “they” (the men) pay DEARLY for thier input at the time of conception, loose your grip on the myth that women do ALL the suffering of having a baby. And unless you are earning at least 50% of your house-hold income….get back in the kitchen. Cis got to name the first two, its E’s turn. (Cant wait to hear the rersponse on this one) LOL

    Kevin

    January 27, 2009 at 12:26 am

  9. Welcome to the blogosphere you Mother Zepher (f-er)!

    VH1

    January 27, 2009 at 7:33 pm

  10. Hey I know what we can do. Lets watch a movie!

    pat

    January 28, 2009 at 10:02 pm

  11. […] When I was a kid we had a black poodle named Sasha (I hadn’t seen Point Break yet so naming her the Zeph was not yet on the radar).   She never told me as much, but I gathered that Sasha lived a […]

  12. Bright – deal.

    Kevin – Nice.

    theZeph

    January 30, 2009 at 7:13 pm

  13. […] until last week I thought his deference to villainous characters was a passing fancy.  Then theWife took him on his first trip to the library where after looking through the comprehensive […]

  14. By and large I do not comment on web sites, but I’d like to mention that this post really has forced me to do so! Thanks for your insightful article.

    cheap dog house

    April 15, 2010 at 8:18 pm

  15. Had the same deal worked out with my wife to pass on my middle name…. then god threw me a couple of curve ball daughters….
    shoulda named them Carma and Payback

    J. Turd'L Miller

    June 11, 2010 at 9:07 pm

  16. Would love to post your testimonial on my FB page that I’m building. The posts around removing bikes from the car before you enter the garage. It just so happens that I’m working on an amazing, discreet device that detects these unfortunate “anomalies”

    Janneh Merritt

    February 27, 2014 at 4:51 pm


Leave a Reply

